Citrus Classic

Each year, Advantage Tampa Bay hosts a GLTA-sanctioned tournament called the Citrus Classic. GLTA players from all over the United States and Europe have participated in previous tournaments.

2018 Tournament Dates: November 23-25

Tournament Director: Daniel Cribb
Phone: 863.513.6731
The 2018 Citrus Classic will be Daniel Cribb’s 5th year as director of the Citrus Classic.

To play in this tournament: REGISTER HERE

The Citrus Classic has twice been named Tournament of the Year by the GLTA (2004 and 2009) and was designated as a Masters Series Tournament for the 2011 tour year.

Dates and Location
The 2018 Citrus Classic will be held on November 23-25, 2018 in Tampa, FL. Harbour Island Athletic Club (HIAC) will be the primary site for the tournament. If necessary, the secondary site for the tournament will be the Sandra Freedman Tennis Center on Davis Island. Both sites have lighted, Har-Tru green clay surfaces for our tournament play.

Match play will begin at 8am on Friday November 23, 2018. All finals will be played on Sunday November 25, 2018 at Harbour Island Athletic Club. Some semifinal matches may also be held on Sunday. Please make travel plans accordingly, as final matches may not complete until late Sunday afternoon.

Events and Divisions
Players may choose to split their Singles and Doubles division based on their current GLTA rankings. Divisions chosen must be at or above a player's current rank in each respective event. The Citrus Classic committee will review each player's ranking to ensure they are playing in the appropriate division. The committee has the right to reclassify a player to a higher division in accordance with the GLTA Rules and Regulations.

Draw Sizes and Match Format
All Main-Draw Singles matches: Best of 3 sets, with regular scoring

Doubles Matches: 
Open Doubles – traditional single-elimination bracket; Best of 3 sets, with regular scoring.
A, B, C, and D Doubles – ROUND ROBIN; Best of 3 sets, with Champions Tiebreak in lieu of 3rd set.

Consolation Play (Singles only): We are pleased to be able offer consolation play in singles to those players who lose their first round match. Consolation matches will be an 8-game pro set, with no ad scoring and a 12-point tie breaker at 7 games all. Consolation finals matches will be the same as described above in the Main Draw format. Consolation play will not be offered in any divisions which use the round-robin draw format nor in doubles.

2017 Winners
Open Singles: Kenny Evans Open Doubles: Gregg Coldiron and Shane Johnson

A Singles: Justin Fiscus A Doubles: Jeffrey Morgeson and Marcus Vu
A Singles 40+: Dave Mclaren

B Singles: Gill Amaral B Doubles: Gill Amaral and Mario Oliveira
B Singles 40+: Trent Hurst

C Singles: Conall O'Clerigh C Doubles: Grady Allen and Dan Merrithew
C Singles 40+: Jon Cooley

D Singles: RJ Miles D Doubles: Bobby Martin and Robert Ratcliffe

Buccaneer Doubles

ATB is proud to host the Buccaneer Doubles tournament each spring. This is a round-robin tournament that ensures that there is ample amount of playing time for each person that registers.

In Spring 2018, Buccaneer Doubles was held at Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club at picturesque St. Pete Beach!

2018 Winners
A Doubles: Trent Hurst and Dennis Loleng
B Doubles: Daniel Cribb and Christopher Koeck
C Doubles: Jon Cooley and Henri Pichal
D Doubles: Jan Moennig and Nichole Blaquiere

Follow Us

Like Us on Facebook
"Advantage Tampa Bay Tennis"

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software